In Music We Trust >> Frontpage
March 26, 2023

Search In Music We Trust
Article Archives
>> Article ArchivesFeatured ArticlesInterviews & Show Reviews#ABCDEFGHIJKL MNOPQRSTUVWXYZVarious ArtistsDVD Reviews
Laughing Sam's Breakdown
Soul Reflection (Thundercreek Records)

By: Ian

Soul Reflection is a compilation of heartbreaks, sorrows, introspections and retrospections. The 10 songs featured here are skillfully crafted in a pop vein with inflections of blues, funk and soul. The band, consisting of Jeff Getty (guitar), Dean Hibma (bass), Greg Lee (drums) are accomplished and equally talented musicians. At the front of this group is Bil Eldridge whose passionate and explosive voice renders each song a heart-wrenching and emotional journey to the heart of his experiences in life, love and the reflection on both. The title track booms forth with a crash of cymbals and a furious blues guitar wail reminiscent of the great Texas bluesmen (need I give names?) the rest of the disc drives on from there. Songs like "Drag", "Anxious", "I knew" and "Horses" are true indicators of powerful melodic songwriting that could lead "LSB" into a full, prosperous career. Recorded by Producer Frank Aversa (Spin Doctors, Hazies) this disc is raw yet soulful and true to it's title.

"Soul Reflection" by Laughing Sam's Breakdown is available through Thundercreek records in the U.S. and Canada (dist. in Can. by Cargo)#TCR-90011.

Copyright © 1997-2023, In Music We Trust, Inc. All Rights Reserved.