In Music We Trust >> Frontpage
May 18, 2024

Search In Music We Trust
Article Archives
>> Article ArchivesFeatured ArticlesInterviews & Show Reviews#ABCDEFGHIJKL MNOPQRSTUVWXYZVarious ArtistsDVD Reviews
Telefon Tel Aviv
Map of What Is Effortless (Hefty Records)

By: Alex Steininger

On their second full-length, Map of What Is Effortless, Chicago-by-way-of-New Orleans electro-pop outfit Telefon Tel Aviv move beyond the electronic sounds of their first record, Fahrenheit Fair Enough, broadening their songwriting, and enriching their sound. Adding female and male vocals, lush pop arrangements, and sleepy-eyed melodies, the band constructs a surprising pop gem here, a record rooted in futuristic pop sounds, though they're not afraid to recall influences of yesteryear and lean on them for inspiration and direction. Map of What Is Effortless is a shining, sunny offering, a pure slice of relaxed, mid-day pop brilliance. I'll give it an A-.
Copyright © 1997-2024, In Music We Trust, Inc. All Rights Reserved.